pieta

25Aug09

charcoal pietadiffuse glow pieta

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

pieta grainypieta blue

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My brother made this when he was 12. It has JR2GE carved into the bottom of it. He gave it to me. Actually I think I comandeered it, having an eye for promising naïve art, as I did. Probably I identified an air of Picasso about it. Or really I think it was just the rough-edged sweetness of it that appealed to me most of all.

Now it sits on my green kitchen cabinet, next to the slightly broken decanter and my red Russian doll. I admire it often.

Sometimes my brother threatens to steal it. One night he hid it from me and I started to worry, but it was only tucked away behind some recipe books.

Judging by the jellybean-like Jesus, I’m pretty sure this is a mother & child scenario, probably fired in the kiln some time around Easter. But it reminds me of the Pietà. That’s a whole other story though, and it’s late. Above all it reminds me of James.

One Response to “pieta”


  1. 1 the penguin talisman « katyink

Leave a Reply

