talking about getting stoned is the new getting stoned

19Sep09

disasters of a diarist

This is a page from my journal nearly 10 years ago. The polaroid is a picture of my face in the rear view mirror of the Fiat. I still have the polaroid (framed, directly above the kitchen light switch) but my face has faded from it. There’s just a cloudy greyness now. Kinda symbolic. Maybe me digitising this is a way of getting my face back. But that’s far too thoughtful for a Saturday night (especially for a Saturday night with a major rugby game going on [apparently]). So onto the next subject.

Something we’ve been discussing for a while now: talking about getting stoned is the new getting stoned. It’s something we do in the weekend. Talk about it, I mean. Like, what if we were stoned right now?

It’s the power of suggestion. Sometimes just talking about it makes me slightly heady, or lightheaded (are they the same thing – heady and lightheaded – or complete opposites?)

e.g. driving around Oriental Bay on a sunny Sunday. e.g. waking up from a Sunday nap, thinking what now?

To actually get stoned after all this talking about it might be an anticlimax. We’ve found our own weekend pastime/safe nostalgia, and I’m okay with that. Getting older makes for pretty good times, actually.

Oh, and we won the rugby. Convincingly, the internet tells me.

No Responses Yet to “talking about getting stoned is the new getting stoned”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

