the feeling wheel

03Nov09

the feeling wheel rerendered

This is the feeling wheel. I don’t know its origins, sorry, but I found it here. Actually it was referenced in the latest Mindfood magazine and I looked it up.

Then I wanted to make reference to it here, but I didn’t like the colour scheme (it would seriously disrupt the tone of katyink and even my bigtime Photoshop prowess couldn’t make it pretty enough to pass muster… or should I just say that it was quicker for me to start from scratch, rather than try and wrangle Photoshop into submission), so I decided to re-draw it.

By the time I publish this you probably won’t be able to read the words on the wheel. In which case, click on the link above for the ugly/ier version.

I like the feeling wheel. It makes a lot of sense. I want to stick an arrow in the middle of it (sort of like a Twister arrow, or some kind of Spin the Bottle device, without the pashing, that is) and play Guess the Mood.

Not sure if my artistic subtleties will be lost on you, but see how I have turned it into a dartboard? That was totally accidental, but I’m kind of proud of it. I could call it the Dartboard of Emotions. Or should it be the Emotional Dartboard?

Or, if you look at it another way, with eyes slighty squinted, it looks like the age rings or whatever you call them on a cut-up tree. Plus, I drew Shrewsbury biscuit edges (if you look very closely at the disguised ridges) and then coloured them in. That is probably a bit obtuse, though, granted.

I copied the feeling wheel because I was supposed to be doing something else. Often when the best stuff happens. Or at least that’s what I tell myself when I don’t get around to achieving quite what I set out to. Or as John Lennon said, life’s what happens when you’re busy making other plans. Or, feeling wheels are what get copied when you’re supposed to be doing something useful. But this is useful, sort of?

Copying the feeling wheel reminded me of doing pencil rubbings of coins and leaves, and copying illustrations out of books. I used to rip off my grandmother’s children’s books. That makes it sound slightly sinister, but it wasn’t. It was the sincerest form of flattery. She had written a book about a horse called Zinnia. Not long after, in the garage-y room under the house I produced my first slim staple-bound volume, about a horse called Zero. Well, how else do you learn how to draw horses?

I copied the feeling wheel at the kitchen table tonight whilst talking to my sister in Sydney, with a glass of wine and the hot off the press Morrissey B-sides (turned up in the mail today), Swords, playing on repeat. I have achieved little else, but all in all a good night. I would say I am sitting right about CONTENT/RELAXED on the feelings wheel. (Morrissey, on the other hand, is closer to REJECTED/DISCOURAGED, but you gotta love him for it).

One Response to “the feeling wheel”

  1. I love having a great read in the morning. Another tremendous article. thanks, Ill link it on my site.


Leave a Reply

