the day before the last day, and some animals I met along the way

12Jan10

I got these photos of the sheep the other day in Hastings. They’re not real. Sorry to spoil it, if you hadn’t worked that out already.

It is the night before we shut up shop and go back to real life. Therefore I am putting off going to bed.

I am listening to Rufus Wainwright and getting excited about life ahead and the Arts Festival.

Right now Rufus is singing I’m going to a town that has already been burnt down. I’m going to a place that has already been disgraced. I’m gonna see some folks who have already been let down. I’m so tired of America. I’m gonna make it up for all of the Sunday Times. I’m gonna make it up for all of the nursery rhymes. They never really seem to want to tell the truth. I’m so tired of you America. Making my own way home. Aint gonna be alone. I’ve gotta life to live, America.

Tell me: do you really think you go to hell for being loved?

And so on.

Tonight it rained here for the first time in ages.

Here are some other animals I’ve met in the last few days. Not live animals, any of them. But not roadkill, either, although I must say it has seemed particularly abundant on the country roads this summer. I have to draw the line somewhere (and am trying to forget the poor dead tabby I saw the other day). 

Consider this a prelude to my upcoming post: Animals in Our Art Collection (it may or may not be capitalised, depending on how grand I want it to seem). Probably a week or less away, but don’t hold your breath. I have a deskjob to check back into, after all, and carnage may await me there. Not that I’m supposing that you – whoever you are – would be holding your breath. It dawned on me a while ago that quite a bit of our art features animals in some way. It also quite often incorporates accidental typographical errors (another post in itself, I think), quite coincidentally. It’s sort of become a quirk of our collection.

These charming beasts adorned the walls in the pool room of a wedding we attended a couple of days ago. The leis are a nice touch.

That reminds me, I haven’t yet taken a photo of the letterbox gorilla. We must do that tomorrow before we leave town. All will be revealed. Letterbox gorilla has lost his santa hat though. I left the photo shoot a bit late, although we pass him often. Funny how you get complacent about the things you see everyday. And then one day their santa hat is gone, and it’s too late to do anything about it.

No Responses Yet to “the day before the last day, and some animals I met along the way”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

