I just don’t want to

04Jul10

I don’t. I really don’t. I did try. But I just don’t want to. It’s easier not to. It’s probably better like this. For everyone. I wanted to want to. But wanting to want is not the same as just plain old wanting. And it’s very very far from doing. And this presents some significant obstacles. And herein lies a presently insurmountable conundrum.

What I am talking about here is far more complex and nuanced than mere procrastination. More twistedly muddled than a Rubik’s Cube. More shrouded and foggy than the Wellington Airport on a midwinter’s morning. Or at least I like to think so.

Today I thought of a word I really like. MAMMAL. It’s one letter off being an anagram, and it just sounds nice. It also means being warm-blooded, which can’t be a bad thing.

Today’s context:

“Why are you so warm?”

“Because I’m a mammal.” (I didn’t even have my electric blanket on.)

I’m trying to think of other words I like, but I don’t want to detract from mammal. Like crepuscular or obfuscate. But I actually prefer mammal, so let’s just leave it at that for now.

I think we might be nearly homeless. Getting to a state of homelessness is quite an epic undertaking.

Baxter just reminded me of Julia Roberts in Pretty Woman. i.e. if you buy him biscuits he’ll give you all the love in the world, but he will not kiss you. It’s not in his contract.

Probably the funniest thing that happened this weekend was hanging out with Robin, as per below. Oh no — as per below. That sounds like something I might write in a work email. Somewhere alongside as requested and please find attached (even better when I then neglect to attach said attachment).

I’m going to go and wash the scribble off my arm now and call it a night. Because I just don’t want to do anything else.

One Response to “I just don’t want to”

  1. Cute pictures!


Leave a Reply

